F0ul Thoughts

Mild mannered on the outside, Free thinker on the inside

Today is the first day of the rest of my life

leave a comment »


I have recently got a new job.

My role is not important, It is a sales job.

What is important is my attitude has totally changed.

I have been working for a long time, going from job to job, using my income as a guide to my success.  I was doing quite well, with a flash car, a house and lots of toys to my name.  Eventually the recession came, and I was taken out.  I found other work, but these too, were lost, partly through their unsustainablity, partly through my ego. You can make your own mind up of what that means! 😉

Anyway, I was made redundant 4 months ago, and did the usual thing of looking for new work.  As things moved on, nothing was working, and I was slowly getting disheartened.  Eventually, I found a role, and there is what I am now doing.

What changed was my self image.

Rather than being Mr Important, with loads of qualifications, experience and salary expectations, I became Mr IDontQuit with a very low basic and lots of support.

I looked at the role as being my opportunity to demonstrate what I was made of. If I succeeded, I would be back earning lots of money.  If I didn’t, it would be my fault.  

I saw it as being opportunity dressed up as hard work.  

I saw it as being a great alternative to being unemployed!

 

One of the biggest problems with taking too much interest in what everybody else does, it that you start scoring yourself against them, using just their outer indicators of success to gauge your own.  In a boom, that will always lead to disappointment.  I’ve met far too many idiots who splashed borrowed cash on delusions of grandeur! 

Today is the start of the rest of my life where everything I have is what I have earned. It makes me happy.

Written by f0ul

December 12, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

