F0ul Thoughts

Mild mannered on the outside, Free thinker on the inside

Blog Stats and other ways to drive you mad!

with 2 comments


When you start a blog, it should be to ad something to the world – even if it is just a bit more sarcasm and pointing at the obvious!

I found something strange happened. A few days ago I posted a story about the Robin Hood Tax, and I linked to the actual campaign. Stupidly enough, they had set up a posting of their ping backs! So, anyone who linked to them, got a link back, regardless of if that link was a positive or negative (and it was mostly negative!) comments!

Anyway – that first post popped up as the second on their list – meaning that I was getting loads of hits from people reading about my Celebrity Tax idea instead. OK, so I guessed that taking the piss out of your audience (in a bad way) isn’t a good way to maintain viewing figures!

So, I now look at my visitor numbers and I am doing well to get more than 4 hits a day! That is really not good! ๐Ÿ™‚ However, it made me realise that this is the essence of what is wrong with the world, and mostly the Internet!

Blog Stats are not a measure of anything other than that people found your link and clicked on it. Its not a measure of how good your writing is, how good your ideas are, or how well you are able to balance chairs on your nose in a gale force 10 storm! Its just people through the door!

So, I have decided that all I can do is to blog about anything that comes into my head, and stuff the stat counter – it is possibly lying anyway!

Written by f0ul

February 18, 2010 at 11:35 am

Posted in Personal

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You just made my day. That stat counter is just Satanic in my opinion and dwindles my writing abilities.

    yliram

    February 18, 2010 at 1:39 pm


Leave a Reply

