F0ul Thoughts

Mild mannered on the outside, Free thinker on the inside

Bikers Forced to Wear Day Glo?

leave a comment »


There is a story in MCN that the Police in Sussex are handing out Hi Viz jackets to all bikers, following a road side lecture. Its even hit the proper papers!

What do I think?  I hate the whole ‘You must be Seen’ ethos from various government types.  Having been on the road since 1988, and done at least 25k miles every year since then (wow, that’s over 1/2 million miles by today!) I feel I have an idea on how to drive safely.  I understand that accidents happen for lots of reasons.

I don’t accept is my responsibility is that I need to been seen by other road users to qualify for support if I then have an accident. When I go past a junction, I need to make sure that the other person doesn’t pull out on me.  How do I do that?  By moving to the middle of the road and slowing down a little, maybe weave ever so slightly.

Eventually, that person is either going to see me, or they are going to pull out without seeing me.  While it would be nice to think that a Day Glow bib is going to make me stand out, I doubt it.

When I’m not on the bike, I drive a big 4×4.  When I say big, I mean it could be used to transport a village of Africans around the world in reasonable comfort!  However, even in this mammoth of a car, I STILL get inane mum types pull out in front of me!!

Maybe I could put a day glo vest into the grill, and it would stop, but I doubt it!

The problem as I see it is that the people who make up these initiatives are all quite stupid.  There, I’ve said it, and I don’t regret it one bit!  The problem with stupid people is that they, like everyone else want to make sense of the world around them.  They do this by limiting their knowledge to one level of cause and effect – and will not think any harder – in case it breaks their knowledge!

For instance, speeding kills!  Um, no it doesn’t.  Inappropriate speed for the conditions can and sometimes causes fatal injuries.

Being seen makes you safer, they say.  Well, if it was true, then accidents involving bikes with their headlights on should have died out since they were made a legal requirement.

Seeing that is obviously not the case, how does also having to wear a Day Glo bib make things better?  There are actually reports which have looked at figures and they make no sense at all! One states that a day glo bib has more of an effect than having a headlight on – which seems to suggest the day light running light is a red herring!!

Anyway – within a generation, I wouldn’t be surprised that Dayglo becomes a legal requirement if bikers don’t continue to make a fuss. We already have lots and lots of laws based on nothing more than a feel good factor to connect it with the truth – so what would be different this time?

Written by f0ul

February 16, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Posted in Motorbikes, politics

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

